notallwomenarethesame

….but we are all fabulous.

Venetian aquatint

I have this gorgeous print of an aquatint by Cadore that we bought in Venice a couple of years ago that I just love.

20190323_194256.jpg

Anyway, I thought for a change, I would put the books aside and try and reproduce this picture.

20190323_194245.jpg

I’m quite pleased with the colours I mixed and I like the mooring posts in the foreground. However, the buildings are at an odd angle and I am not convinced about my decision at the end to draw round the buildings and posts. My attempt at a reflection for the post started off ok but somehow bled even though it wasn’t wet on wet, so maybe too much water again. I also learnt a little bit more about layering colours.

Anyway, not awful for a first effort and definitely one I’ll be trying again. Like many of my efforts, it looks better from a distance, so here it is propped on my mantelpiece!

20190323_194811

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2019 by in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .