notallwomenarethesame

….but we are all fabulous.

Water

This week I was practising painting water, following some exercises in the book Painting Water in Watercolour by Terry Harrison.

20190226_162620.jpg

I learnt a few things:

  1. I need more than an hour to really make progress (my puddles still don’t look like puddles – my husband thought they were gaps in wood!).

20190226_162631.jpg

2. Techniques I thought looked simple in the book, need more subtlety than I realised (the picture of a puddle in the book  was deceptively simple).

3. Water is key in watercolour (unsurprisingly). Too much and you get unwanted runs and cauliflowers in your paintings (see puddles again!), too little and you don’t get that gorgeous merging and transition between colours.

Lastly, a rather surprising outcome… some pictures look better upside down!

20190226_162635-e1551199313964.jpg

This (⇑) is the way it was meant to be – a bad attempt at foliage which I was going to reflect in water but abandoned. When it dried, I noticed that upside down (⇓) it looked like a landscape with distant details!

20190226_162643.jpg

More from me this weekend!

 

2 comments on “Water

  1. ronniecruwys
    February 26, 2019

    I’m really enjoying reading your posts and seeing these mini paintings! Thank you! I love how turning the painting upside down gives it a whole new dimension. Another thing to encourage us lifetime-learners is zooming into the image – you can find places where it really does look great! Ronnie 🙂

    • notallwomenarethesame
      February 26, 2019

      Thanks Ronnie. I also find it amazing how different things look when they dry and also when they are photographed.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2019 by in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .