notallwomenarethesame

….but we are all fabulous.

Janathon 2017 – Day 15

So we’re 15 days into 2017 and almost half way through January. So far my new year’s resolutions are going well – assisted by Janathon (a small band of hardy Facebookers braving the elements to exercise every day in January), MyFitnessPal and The Body Book by Cameron Diaz.

body_book_camerondiaz_health_habits

So far I have done some exercise everyday and I have racked up:

  • 3x 1 hour yoga sessions
  • 33.8 miles of walking
  • my first walk/run in several months

In addition I have cut out chocolate (except an occasional end of evening square of 70% dark chocolate), cakes, biscuits and crisps. I am also eating more brown rice, brown rice pasta and oats and almost no processed food. I rarely feel hungry or cravings and I have lost 2 pounds so far.

I  found this recipe for Oat Pancakes online (http://www.myfussyeater.com/oat-pancakes-with-banana-blueberries/) and they are fabulous. I make up a batch, freeze them in pairs and then put them in the toaster and have with coconut oil and marmite with avocado as a scrummy and very filling breakfast!
PREP TIME
5 mins
COOK TIME
10 mins
TOTAL TIME
15 mins
Makes 6 pancakes.
Serves: 3
INGREDIENTS
  • 200g oats
  • 240ml milk
  • 2 tbsp greek yoghurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp sugar / sweetener (I use a small amouny of honey)
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • cooking spray or oil to fry
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. In a food processor blitz the oats until they become more fine.
  2. Add the milk, yoghurt, egg, sugar / sweetener and the bicarb and blitz again until well combined.
  3. Add oil or cooking spray to a frying pan over a medium heat. Cook one pancake at a time by adding a small ladle of the oats mixture to the pan. The mixture will rise slightly with the bicarb so don’t make the pancake too big! Cook on one side for 3-4 minutes until browned. Flip the pancake and cook for another 3-4 minutes. Remove and place on a plate or keep warm in a low heat oven.
  4. Add a small bit of oil or cooking spray to the pan between each pancake to prevent them from sticking.

 

One thing that doing the walking every day has made me realise is how much incidental walking I used to do before I had a car. When I lived in Bristol in my 20s I would walk everywhere. I didn’t have enough money for taxis and rarely bothered with the bus. My friends and I didn’t think twice about walking 2/3 miles into town or back. Now, it needs planning into the day.

Let’s see how I feel at the end of the month, but so far, I am pretty pleased!

 

Leave a Reply

