notallwomenarethesame

….but we are all fabulous.

Paul Klee at the Tate Modern

I love Paul Klee – the exhibition of his work at the Hayward Gallery in 2002 was the first art exhibition I really chose to go to and it did not disappoint. The exhibition poster still graces my wall. So I was overjoyed to see that the Tate Modern was hosting a Klee exhibition: http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/ey-exhibition-paul-klee-making-visible.

I’m normally not a huge fan of audio guides but my mum was keen and so we each got one – I was pleased I did as it really brought Klee’s life and some of the work to life.

We like to play the game of ‘which piece you would most like to take home with you’ when we visit exhibitions and here I was spoilt for choice – one of my favourite pieces was from his Gradation series, it was called ‘Pottery’ but the reproductions online don’t really give a flavour of the painting, so here’s another painting from the same time which uses the same technique:

Crystal Gradation. 1921

Paul Klee, Crystal Gradation, 1921

The exhibition ends in 7 days – so if you haven’t yet seen it and want to, make sure you hurry!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2014 by in Art and tagged , , .
